Looking ahead to 2014… Goal Setting!

After every wedding, event, portrait session or just creative shooting, I always go back and review my work… At first review, I get excited and pick favorite images and am all “Yay! This rocks!”; but then I look deeper… at my performance, at the details and technicalities… minute things that may only be recognized by another photographer, or something that may only be noticed by my own critical eye. This exercise pushes me, humbles me. And ultimately, it makes me expect more of myself next time I’m behind my lens…

So, as I sat reviewing my last wedding of the year, I realized that it was also time to review my goals from this year, and set new goals for 2014!

Where did 2013 go? I never understood it before, but now I see what my parents meant by “time flies”! It’s been busy and I’ve learned a lot; and I look forward to what 2014 has in store. New opportunities, new lessons, news friends & colleagues… and new Goals! I have come to realize that you learn the most when you stretch yourself and are placed well outside of your conform zone! There have been successes and failures – all of which,  I hope, make me a better me every day!

Image

As I assess 2013 and look forward to the wonders of 2014, I share with you some goal setting tips I’ve found helpful… Maybe they’ll help you too!

* Review last year’s goals. If there are goals where you missed the mark, revise & re-purpose those goals for 2014! (What worked? What didn’t? How can you achieve it this time?)

* Expect more! Shoot (no pun intended) for the stars and you might just hit the moon!

* If you have set a particularly large goal, break them down into digestible portions and monitor your progress often, so that you can achieve the whole!

* Push beyond your comfort zone. Acknowledge & target a weakness or two. By getting out of your comfort zone, you will find resolution and new found strength!

* Is there something on your 2013 Goals list that bears repeating? Then do it!

* Keep your goal list where you can see it and refer to it often throughout the year.

* Take action! Don’t just talk about it, be about it!

That’s it! Now, take this as your reminder, motivation, or my challenge to you – get that 2014 Goals List started!

Good luck and may your New Year be Blessed and Prosperous!

Note: If you’re wondering where I scored that beautiful handmade leather journal… Check out Teresa Merriman of Mind’s Eye Journals! Facebook: www.facebook.com/mindseyejournals‎   Website: www.mindseyejournals.com

-Andria

photographer | memory engraver

website | facebook

Andria Lavine Photography

Your memories… engraved!

One thought on “Looking ahead to 2014… Goal Setting!

What's on your mind?

